Westerly Community Credit Union Go to main content

Westerly Community Credit Union Awards $5,000 in Grants to Local Teachers

Westerly Community Credit Union is proud to announce they have recently awarded (12) WCCU Teacher Grant Awards, totaling just over $5,000, for the 2016/17 school year. Grants were awarded to local Teachers or Staff from the following school districts: Chariho, Narragansett, South Kingstown, Stonington, and Westerly.  

The (12) WCCU Teacher Grant recipients are:

Chariho Regional School District: 

  • Peter Faggella- Chariho Career and Technical Center 
  • Christine Haberek- Chariho Career and Technical Center

Narragansett School System:

  • Vanessa Miller- Narragansett Pier Middle School
  • Leah Mitchell- Narragansett Elementary School
  • Jennifer Loiselle- Narragansett Pier Middle School

South Kingstown School Department:

  • Rita Toolin- South Kingstown High School

Stonington Public Schools:

  • Diane Gallo- Pawcatuck Middle School
  • Elaine Temel- Pawcatuck Middle School

Westerly Public Schools:

  • Kristin Almeida- Westerly Middle School
  • Kristen Federico- State Street School
  • Rebecca Mason- Springbrook Elementary School
  • Mary Kay Patton- State Street School

Grant monies will help fund educational and social projects, ranging from a ‘NYC Art Field Trip’ and a High School ‘Buddying Up’ program for students with special needs, to a ‘Pop-Up Mobile Library’, a ‘Save the Bay’s Life in your Watershed’ program, and an automotive initiative of ‘Building a Supercharged Prism’. In all, (12) initiatives were chosen from 22 applications.

 ‘We were very pleased to have had such a positive response to our new WCCU Teacher Grant Program,’ said Steve White, WCCU President and CEO.  ‘We received several outstanding applications which represent the many exemplary Teachers, Administrators and Staff members in our neighboring school communities.  We look forward to supporting these professionals and their innovative teaching projects through our new Teacher Grant program.’ 

Westerly Community Credit Union’s Teacher Grant Program awarded grants in values up to $500. WCCU will be awarding their grants annually to support creative and experiential educational projects or programs in the area’s school districts. Special consideration will be given to innovative projects that strengthen the relationship between our schools and the community at large, and to projects that support student excellence. All applications will be judged on the following criteria: Educational Focus, Promotion of Skills/Excellence, Creativity/Innovation, Community Connection, and Goal Clarity/Attainability. Grant applications for the 2016/17 school year must be submitted no later than October 31, 2017. Awarded monies will be distributed by November 30, 2017.

Please contact Meg Sisco, WCCU’s Vice President of Marketing, at 401-596-7000 x2117 or msisco@westerlyccu.com with any questions regarding WCCU’s Teacher Grant Program. You can also visit www.westerlyccu.com for application details.

About Westerly Community Credit Union:
Established in 1948, Westerly Community Credit Union is a local, full–service financial institution, focused not on profits, but on helping its’ members achieve financial success. They currently serve over 17,500 members with lending and deposit needs through their convenient locations in Richmond, South Kingstown, and Westerly, as well as online via www.westerlyccu.com. 
WCCU has a long history of supporting local schools largely through their annual Basketball Tournament (solely sponsored since 1984) and financial literacy programs: Save for America School Savings program (elementary schools), the Everfi Online Financial Literacy Program, CU4Reality Financial Literacy Fairs, and Cemark financial literacy booklets (high schools). 
Recently, the Westerly Community Credit Union was awarded 1st place as the fastest-growing and most innovative company in the State of RI by the Providence Business News. The Westerly Community Credit Union was also named Best Bank in the Westerly Sun’s 2016 Readers’ Choice Awards.  Membership is open to all who reside or work in Rhode Island and New London County, CT. 

Go to main navigation